5 Reasons Why I Don’t Enjoy The Rain

https://thatwasabitmental.files.wordpress.com

Remember this scene from the movie series ‘Twilight’ where the cold-blooded Edward Cullen asks the should-be-tan-Arizona-gal Bella Swan if she’s enjoying the rain. Abruptly, Bella answered how she supposedly ‘didn’t like’ anything cold and wet. As a fan of the movie, I used to believe that I liked the rain (of course after attempting to mimic everything that makes Bella, Bella–which ended up not so well) as Edward did, but now that July, the rainy season for the Philippines have just started and as for this day July 9, 2015, a second typhoon had already entered the Philippine Area of Responsibility, I’m starting to realize the honest.

(This article I dedicate to the Pluviophiles (lovers of rain;someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy days) who won’t admit they also, somehow, hate the rain.) So these are the 5 reasons why I don’t enjoy the rain.

1. Class Suspensions

Twitter, should thank the Caviteno’s for heaping the ratings for the media site as we await for the suspension announcement (via his tweet) of our very own loving governor, Jonvic Remulla. I remember back in high school where we used take all the same subjects each day and dismisses at around 5 in the afternoon and how we all run and howl like a crazy hyena when the government declares suspension. But that was before, and as a college student that has a once a week class for a subject, it means trouble. To be more precise–cramming is theword. And it’s inclusive of projects, home works, assignments and exams that feels like happening in one day.

2. Getting Wet

Although there’s no typhoon whatsoever, we always expect for rain, because dude, it’s the Philippines, it’s where rain first fell and still does. It’s like the favorite tourist destination of precipitation. It’s where students always carries a raincoat or an umbrella and keeps an emergency school shoes for rainy days. And don’t deny the feeling of being so numb getting cold for walking home with a stinky wet sock. Plus, the distraction everyone feels whenever inside a classroom, looking out the window seeing the rain pour and asking their selves, ‘How will I get home?’

3. Muddy Soles

It wasn’t even raining when I walked Monday last week to school and ended up covering my black shoes in mud like a quicksand I can’t barely walk and almost slipped. This happened with a car waiting for me to move on to park on where I am walking and my classmates looking over me. It was embarrassing and annoying at the same time. I can’t imagine even slipping on that bed of mud. (I would always regret going down that part of the road -_-)

4. Home Bound

Since the classes are suspended due to the typhoon and I would never ever risk again being mud-stained and humiliated, I stay home. Yeah, it’s okay to stay at home and I remember wanting real bad to go home. But that was when I was tired and wanted rest. It feels like death to rest this long doing nothing during class suspensions.

5. The Board Games

It’s not lonely. It’s boring. Regardless of the image above. I felt like the only thing I did this day is to pretend I’m on diet by not eating rice and endlessly play plants vs. zombies 2 on three different devices. I played like, three songs on my incomplete drum set and stopped  because it tired me. To be honest, my lazy hormones are active whenever it’s cold. Plus it’s almost night time and I still haven’t taken a bath.

That’s a wrap! 5 reasons why I don’t enjoy the rain. Any comments and disagreements are open 🙂 Don’t forget to click the follow button! 🙂

warm hugs,

Naomi ❤

x

Leave a comment